Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel: Konzert a-moll, Wq 170 (Violoncello, Piano)

Violoncello Concerto in A minor Wq 170 by Carl Ph. Emanuel Bach. Piano Reduction with solo cello part.
199,00  DKK
På lager
På lager
KomponistBach, Carl Ph. E.
InstrumentationVioloncello, Piano
ForlagBreitkopf und Härtel

  • Composer: Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714–1788) 

  • Violoncello Concerto in A minor Wq 170

  • Urtext edited by Ulrich Leisinger

  • Duration: 25 min.

The concertos in A minor and B flat major were first written as violoncello concertos between 1750 and 1753. They thus rank among the very first concertos for solo cello in Germany.

The A minor Concerto, composed in 1750, is performed quite frequently today. C. P. E. Bach most likely wrote the Concerto in B flat major Wq. 171 as the last of the little work group in 1753 in Potsdam, at the court of King Frederick the Great. He reworked the composition for flute and harpsichord shortly thereafter. Various sources prove that copies of the work had made it known quite extensively in the second half of the 18th century. In his new Urtext edition, Ulrich Leisinger bases himself on two reliable manuscripts.

“Here is a beautifully clear solo copy with precious few slurring marks. There are no performance indications in the piano part either. Let each player find his own truth.” (Mary Nemet, Stringendo)

1. Allegro assai
2. Andante
3. Allegro assai