Bach, J. S.: Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 227 (Full Score)

The Full Score for the Bach Motet "Jesu, meine Freude". Basso Continuo (Organ part) in the bottom of the score. German and english text.
116,00  DKK
På lager
På lager
KomponistBach, Johann S.
InstrumentationSSATB, Basso Continuo
Åben PDF-fil

For many choral singers Jesu, meine Freude is not just a motet by Bach, but the motet par excellence. Bach’s motets as a whole have to be described as exceptional works, but even amongst these this is an exceptional work which is out of the ordinary not only in terms of its length. The formal conception, with its alternating chorale and Bible verses in 11 sections in a symmetrical structure, is also unique. The motet was very probably composed for a funeral, but no further details about this are known. By comparison, there are clear indications that the motet, as we now know it, was probably not composed in one go, but was composed over a long period of time.

Language: German
Duration: 25 min
Key: E minor
Biblical text: Röm 8,2.9-11
Text source: Bibeltext kombiniert mit den 6 Strophen des Kirchenliedes von Johann Franck (1653)

Revised 2003, based on the new criticla edition (Uwe Wolf)

Edited by Günter Graulich