Börjesson, Anders S.: Ten Pieces for Organ Vol. 1

Ten Pieces for Organ by Anders Samuel Börjesson. Published in 2023 by Wayne Leupold.
Nodehæfte Nodehæfte
399,00  DKK
Skaffes inden for 1-3 uger
Skaffes inden for 1-3 uger
KomponistBörjesson, Anders S.
ForlagWayne Leupold

Anders Samuel Börjesson (b. 1975 in Sweden) was educated in Oskarshamn, Gothenburg, and Paris. From 1996 he studied at the University of Gothenburg and received a Master of Fine Arts in Church Music in 2000 and a Master of Arts in Music Performance and Postgraduate Diploma in Organ in 2002 from the same university where he studied with Mikael Wahlin. His diploma program included the Symphonic Fantasy and Fugue, Op. 57 by Max Reger. As part of the Diploma Program he spent a year in Paris studying with Sophie-Veronique Cauchefer-Choplin at Saint-Sulpice. Since 2011 Anders Börjesson has been the organist of Mariestad Cathedral (on the eastern shore of Lake Vänern in central Sweden), where he gives weekly organ concerts.

Composition has been an interest from an early age; as a teenager Börjesson composed synth/pop music before the organ caught his attention. In 1998 he composed an Organ Symphony (60 min), performed for the first time that year in Vasa Church in Gothenburg by Ulf Norberg (now the Concert Hall organist in Stockholm). The same year Börjesson and his fellow student Mattias Eklund composed and performed the winning song in a national music contest between the six music universities in Sweden (inspired by the Eurovision Song Contest).

In 2015 he was the winner of the International Contest in Organ Composition of the Swedish Organ Society and in 2019 the winner in two categories (out of three) of the Orgelkids Composition
Contest in the Netherlands. In 2020 Börjesson became one of the ‘House Composers’ of US-based publishing house Leupold Editions, a Division of The Leupold Foundation.

Börjesson has, for instance, played Grieg’s Piano Concerto, Rachmaninoff’s Second Piano Concerto and Saint-Saëns’s Second Piano Concerto with orchestra; he has also transcribed the orchestral parts for organ. His compositions appear on Pro Organo with James D. Hicks and Hyperion Records with Christopher Herrick. Börjesson’s works are published by Cantorgi (Sweden), Norsk Musikforlag (Norway), and Leupold Editions, a Division of The Leupold Foundation (USA).

1. Meditation
2. Prelude
3. Fugue
4. Air
5. Hymn on B-A-C-H
6. Communion
7. March
8. Scherzo
9. Prayer
10. Toccata