Khatia Buniatishvili: Motherland (Double Vinyl / 2LP)

Georgian pianist who dedicated this album to her mother, her first piano teacher.
ForlagMusic On Vinyl
SolistKhatia Buniatishvili
På lager
På lager
239,00 DKK
Side A
1. Aria: “Schafe können sicher weiden” BWV 208/9
2. October: Autumn Song op. 37b/10
3. Lied ohne Worte in F-sharp minor op. 67/2
4. Clair de lune

Side B
1. When Almonds Blossomed
2. Musica ricercata No. 7
3. Intermezzo in B-flat minor op. 117/2
4. Wiegenlied S 198
5. Slavonic Dance in E minor op. 72/2 with Gvantsa Buniatishvili

Side C
1. Pavane pour une infante défunte
2. Étude in C-sharp minor op. 25/7
3. Étude in C-sharp minor op. 2/1
4. Sonata in E major K 380

Side D
1. Homesickness op. 57/6
2. Vaguiorko ma
3. Menuet in G minor HWV 434/4
4. Für Alina

This album is dedicated to Khatia Buniatishvili's mother who was her and her sister's first piano teacher - hence, the title Motherland. The various works come in different forms: there are etudes by Chopin and Scriabin, a sonata by Domenico Scarlatti, a song-like piece by Liszt (Wiegenlied), a Kancheli transcription from a theme he wrote for the film When Almonds Blossomed, a traditional piece (Vaguiorko) arranged by the pianist, and much else. These are quiet, dreamy pieces, most of them not written for the concert hall but expressing a personal quest - for peace, a protected place, childlike.

The package includes a 4-page insert.
- 180 gram audiophile vinyl
- Heavyweight sleeve with deluxe soft-touch laminate finish
- PVC protective sleeve
- 4-page insert
- First time on vinyl
- Georgian pianist who dedicated this album to her mother, her first piano teacher
- Featuring various solo piano works from among others Chopin, Liszt, Bach, Brahms, Kancheli as well as pieces from her homeland