Mendelssohn: Lobgesang - Eine Symphonie-Kantate, op. 52 (Vocal Score)

Klaverudtog til kantaten fra 2. symfoni af Mendelssohn. For solister, kor og orkester.
149,00  DKK
På lager
På lager
Produktnr.EB 8676
ForlagBreitkopf und Härtel
KomponistMendelssohn Bartholdy, Felix
InstrumentationVocal Score
Lobegesang - Eine Symphonie-Kantate nach Worten der Heiligen Schrift für Soli, Chor, Orchester und Orgel.
Hymn of Praise MWV A 18 Op. 52

Breitkopf Urtext ed. by Wulf Konold

German and English text

Piano vocal score by the composer (new edition)

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy was commissioned by the city of Leipzig to write the “Symphony Cantata” Lobgesang for the 400th anniversary of the invention of the printing press by Johannes Gutenberg. The work was given its first performance in Leipzig’s Thomaskirche on 25 June 1840. Another performance took place at the Birmingham Music Festival on 23 September 1840.
The composer created a “hybrid genre” here, a formal designation that he took quite literally and which he used here for the first and only time: after the three symphonic movements have flowed one into the other attacca, comes the Lobgesang Cantata in several sections “Alles, was Odem hat.” The present Urtext edition is the first to take into account the parts which were written for the first performances in Leipzig and which help clear up a number of discrepant readings.